Guide

How Much Does a Loan Origination System Cost?

LOS pricing is one of the least transparent areas in banking technology. Vendors don't publish rates. Quotes vary wildly by institution size and volume. And the sticker price almost never reflects the true cost. Here's what we actually know about LOS pricing in 2026 — platform by platform, model by model.

Updated March 2026 · 10 min read

The Range

LOS costs range from roughly $720/year (Calyx Path for a solo broker at $60/month) to $500,000+/year (nCino with Salesforce licensing for a large institution). That's a 700x spread. The right number for your institution depends on your size, loan volume, lending product mix, and how many modules you need.

For a typical community bank in the $500M–$5B asset range, expect to spend $75,000–$300,000 per year on LOS software — plus implementation costs of $15,000–$200,000 in the first year.

Pricing by Platform

Here's what we know about pricing for each major LOS platform. Most vendors don't publish standard pricing, so these figures are based on public disclosures, review site data, and industry knowledge. Treat them as ranges, not quotes.

Platform Pricing Model Estimated Range
ABLE Platform SaaS subscription with modular pricing; each license includes source-code access, per the vendor's FAQ Estimated $3K–$15K/month for commercial SaaS; the vendor's FAQ says licenses include full source-code access and that cloud or on-premises hosting is possible
Abrigo Subscription (modular, LOS, credit risk, compliance sold separately or bundled) Typically $50K–$250K/year depending on asset size and modules selected
Aloan SaaS subscription Custom annual subscription; Aloan does not publish standard pricing. Estimated roughly $30K–$250K/year depending on loan volume and modules.
Arive SaaS subscription (per-user monthly) Published at arive.com/pricing as of September 2026: Broker Core originator seat $59.99 per user per month billed monthly or $49.99 billed annually (support seat $24.99 or $19.99); Broker Pro originator seat $79.99 or $69.99 (support seat $39.99 or $34.99); Non-Del originator seat $99.99 (support seat $49.99)
Backbase Enterprise licence and subscription Backbase does not publish pricing. Expect enterprise quotes scaled to institution size, lines of business, and journey scope, plus a substantial implementation.
Baker Hill UN/FY (formerly NextGen) SaaS subscription based on asset size and module selection Custom pricing; typical community bank implementations run $75K–$300K/year
Biz2X Custom enterprise agreement; not publicly disclosed Biz2X does not publish standard pricing on its public pages. Expect a custom quote scoped to program volume and modules.
Blend SaaS subscription + per-application transaction fees Custom pricing; typically $100K–$500K+/year for mid-size institutions depending on volume and modules
Blue Sage Digital Lending Platform SaaS subscription (per-user or volume-based) Enterprise pricing; estimated $200–$800/user/month depending on volume and configuration
Built Custom enterprise subscription Built does not publish pricing. Expect quote-based pricing tied to construction volume, module mix across construction administration and deal management, integration depth, and whether you add payments, lien-waiver, or reporting workflows.
BytePro Enterprise Subscription (per-user monthly) Estimated $200–$600/user/month; implementation typically $15K–$75K
Calyx Point / Path Per-user monthly subscription (tiered plans) Calyx Path: $60–$100/user/month (Core/Pro/Premium tiers); Point: legacy per-license pricing
Coviance Custom quote, institution-based subscription Custom pricing; Coviance does not publish rates. Ask for implementation, connector, and ongoing settlement-service costs separately.
defi SOLUTIONS SaaS subscription (volume-based, tiered by portfolio size and modules) Enterprise pricing; custom quotes based on portfolio volume and modules selected
DigiFi SaaS subscription (tiered by volume and modules) Custom pricing; contact sales for quote based on volume and configuration
DownHome Solutions Subscription DownHome has a public pricing page at downhomesolutions.com/pricing where a lender selects a plan and add-on modules to build a quote, with a 10% discount for annual billing (as of September 2026).
Encompass Subscription (per-seat + per-loan transaction fees) Typically $500–$1,500/user/month depending on volume and modules; implementation runs $50K–$200K+
Finastra Lending (formerly Fusion Lending Suite) Enterprise licensing; Finastra does not publish pricing for its lending products Enterprise pricing; estimated $100K–$500K+/year depending on modules and institution size
Finastra Mortgagebot Subscription with implementation fees; ABA members receive discounts Implementation: ~$20K–$60K (with ABA discounts of $3K–$6K); ongoing subscription varies by institution size
FIS Commercial Loan Origination Enterprise licensing; typically bundled with broader FIS banking relationship Enterprise pricing; estimated $150K–$500K+/year for mid-large banks
Fiserv Originate Loans Typically bundled with core banking contract; modular add-on pricing Usually negotiated as part of broader Fiserv core relationship; standalone pricing not publicly available
FlashSpread Custom / usage-based Not publicly published; typically custom or usage-based, and often licensed as an embedded component.
Fundingo Custom subscription pricing Custom pricing; Fundingo does not publish standard rates on its public site
Fuse Flat annual subscription with performance guarantees $50,000–$100,000/year flat depending on institution size; the March 2026 Rescue Fund covers free platform access during legacy contract overlap for the first 50 qualifying CUs
Hawthorn River Subscription (custom quote based on asset size and loan volume) Not publicly disclosed; custom pricing scaled to asset size and loan volume. Sold directly and through CSI; community-bank LOS budgets in this tier typically run $40K–$200K+/year all-in.
HES LoanBox SaaS subscription (modular pricing based on components selected) Estimated $2K–$15K/month depending on modules and volume; enterprise pricing available
Hitch Custom quote Custom pricing; Hitch does not publish standard rates. Ask for implementation scope, broker portal setup, and any per-loan or third-party data fees separately.
Jack Henry LoanVantage Typically bundled with Jack Henry core contract; modular add-on pricing Negotiated as part of broader Jack Henry relationship; estimated $50K–$250K/year depending on modules and institution size
Land Gorilla Custom subscription Land Gorilla does not publish pricing. Expect quotes tied to construction loan volume and which inspection and servicing modules you take.
LendFoundry SaaS subscription (tiered by volume and modules) Estimated $2K–$15K/month depending on volume and configuration; implementation from $25K
LendingPad Per-user monthly subscription Estimated $100–$300/user/month
LendingWise SaaS subscription (tiered by users and features) Published plans as of September 2026: Starter $119/month (1 user), Pro $600/month (5 users), Elite $1,595/month (20 users); Enterprise is custom
Liquid Logics SaaS subscription (tiered by features and users) Estimated $300–$800/user/month; enterprise pricing available
LoanPro SaaS subscription (volume-based per-account pricing) Custom pricing based on account volume; contact sales for quote
MeridianLink Consumer SaaS subscription + transaction-based fees on lending volume Varies by institution size and volume; typically $75K–$400K/year for mid-size to large depositories
MeridianLink Mortgage SaaS subscription + transaction-based fees on lending volume Varies by institution size; typically $50K–$200K/year for mid-size depositories
Moody's Lending Suite (formerly CreditLens) Enterprise licensing Custom enterprise pricing; Moody's does not publish standard rates. Priced for mid-to-large institutions.
Mortgage Automator SaaS subscription (tiered plans) Estimated $200–$600/user/month; plans scale with portfolio size
Mortgage Cadence SaaS subscription (tiered by product level and volume) Enterprise tier: estimated $300–$1,000/user/month; Essentials tier: estimated $150–$400/user/month; implementation varies
nCino Subscription (per-user, tiered by modules) Typically $150–$400/user/month per module; total annual spend for a community bank ranges from $100K–$500K+
Northteq SaaS subscription, on top of Salesforce licensing Northteq does not publish pricing. Budget for the Aurora subscription plus the underlying Salesforce licences, which are a separate line item.
Nortridge Custom subscription or licence Nortridge does not publish pricing. Expect quotes scaled to portfolio size, loan types, and whether you deploy cloud or on-premise.
Moody's Lending Suite Origination (formerly Numerated) SaaS subscription Custom pricing; estimated $75K–$300K/year for mid-size community banks
Odessa Custom enterprise subscription Odessa does not publish pricing. Expect enterprise quotes scaled to portfolio size, asset classes, and module mix.
OpenClose SaaS subscription (per-user or per-loan volume tiers) Estimated $150–$500/user/month; implementation $25K–$75K
Origence arc OS SaaS subscription based on credit union asset size and modules Custom pricing; estimated $50K–$200K/year for mid-size credit unions
Solifi SaaS subscription Solifi does not publish pricing. Expect subscription quotes scaled to asset class, portfolio size, and which products in the Open Finance Platform you license.
SPARK SaaS subscription SPARK does not publish pricing. Expect subscription quotes scaled to SBA volume and whether you operate as a bank or a lender service provider.
The Mortgage Office Licensed software with optional cloud hosting; module-based pricing Estimated $200–$800/user/month for cloud; perpetual license options available for self-hosted
TurnKey Lender SaaS subscription (per-user or volume-based); on-prem licensing available Estimated $3K–$20K/month for SaaS; enterprise on-prem pricing negotiated separately
Wolters Kluwer ComplianceOne Modular subscription based on institution size and modules selected Custom pricing; typically bundled with broader Wolters Kluwer compliance relationship; estimated $50K–$200K/year
Zeitro SaaS subscription (free tier, per-user and per-company monthly plans) Published pricing as of September 2026: Explorer free; Individual $8/month per user; Business $35/month per company for up to 30 users, with extra users at $8/month; Enterprise custom
Zoot Custom enterprise contract Zoot does not publish pricing. Expect custom enterprise contracts, often structured around decision volume and data access.

These are estimated ranges based on available data. Request vendor quotes for your specific scenario.

LOS Pricing Models Explained

LOS vendors use four primary pricing models — and most combine two or more. Understanding the model matters because a platform that looks cheaper on a per-user basis can be the most expensive option when you add transaction fees, modules, and third-party licensing.

Per-User Subscription

A flat monthly fee per user (or "seat"). This is the most common model for mortgage LOS platforms.

Who uses it: Encompass, BytePro, Calyx, LendingPad, nCino

Watch for: Whether "user" means named user or concurrent user. Named user licenses cost more at institutions with part-time loan officers or seasonal staff.

Per-Transaction Fees

A fee charged for each loan application processed or funded. Often layered on top of a per-user subscription.

Who uses it: Encompass (per-loan fees on top of subscription), Blend (per-application), MeridianLink (transaction-based component)

Watch for: At high volume, per-transaction fees can exceed the subscription cost. Model your actual volume before signing.

Modular / Tiered Pricing

You buy individual modules (commercial origination, consumer lending, credit risk, compliance, etc.) rather than a single platform. Each module has its own pricing.

Who uses it: Abrigo, nCino, Baker Hill, Fiserv

Watch for: The initial quote may be for core origination only. Credit risk analytics, compliance monitoring, and reporting are often separate modules that add 50-100% to the base price.

Bundled with Core Banking

The LOS is included in (or heavily discounted as part of) your core banking contract. Pricing leverage is limited because switching LOS means switching core.

Who uses it: Fiserv (for institutions on Fiserv DNA/Premier/Precision)

Watch for: "Bundled" pricing can obscure the true cost. When it's time to renegotiate your core contract, the lending module pricing may increase significantly.

Cost by Institution Size

Your institution's asset size and loan volume are the primary drivers of LOS cost. Here's what to budget:

Institution Type Annual Software Cost Implementation
Mortgage broker / small shop $720–$12,000 Minimal (self-service setup)
Community bank under $1B $50,000–$150,000 $15,000–$75,000
Community bank $1B–$10B $100,000–$400,000 $50,000–$200,000
Credit union under $500M $50,000–$150,000 $15,000–$75,000
Credit union $500M+ $100,000–$350,000 $50,000–$150,000
Mid-size lender (non-depository) $50,000–$200,000 $25,000–$100,000

Hidden Costs

The vendor's quoted price is never the whole story. Here are the costs that catch institutions off guard:

  • 1. Third-party platform licensing. nCino requires Salesforce licenses ($150–$300/user/month) on top of nCino's own fees. This can double your effective per-user cost.
  • 2. Data migration. Moving loan data from your old system to the new one is rarely included in the base implementation quote. Budget $10,000–$50,000 depending on data volume and complexity.
  • 3. Core banking integration development. Pre-built integrations exist for major cores, but configuring them for your specific core version and data model can cost $10,000–$75,000.
  • 4. Training. Initial training may be included, but ongoing training for new hires and refreshers is usually billed separately. Budget $5,000–$15,000/year for a mid-size team.
  • 5. Custom report development. Standard reports are included, but the custom reports your CFO and board actually want? Those are usually "professional services" at $150–$300/hour.
  • 6. Annual price escalators. Most LOS contracts include 3-5% annual price increases. Over a 5-year contract, that's a 15-25% effective price increase. Negotiate caps.
  • 7. Parallel running costs. During the transition period, you'll be paying for both the old and new system simultaneously. Budget 3-6 months of overlap.

How to Get Accurate Quotes

LOS vendors are trained to quote low and add later. Here's how to get numbers you can actually budget against:

  • ▸ Request a three-year total cost of ownership (TCO) quote. Force the vendor to include implementation, migration, training, integration, per-transaction fees, and annual escalation in a single number. Compare vendors on TCO, not monthly subscription.
  • ▸ Specify your actual scenario. Give vendors your exact user count, loan volume by product type, core banking system (with version), and integration requirements. A quote based on "a typical community bank" is useless.
  • ▸ Ask about exit costs. What does it cost to leave? Data export fees, contract termination penalties, and data retention policies matter when the relationship doesn't work out.
  • ▸ Negotiate from competing quotes. Vendors have meaningful pricing flexibility, especially for multi-year commitments. Having two or three competing proposals gives you leverage.

Pricing Varies Dramatically by Segment

The single biggest factor in LOS pricing is what kind of lender you are. A solo mortgage broker, a community bank with $2B in assets, a fintech startup, and a private hard-money lender will pay vastly different amounts — and evaluate completely different platforms. Here's how pricing breaks down by segment:

Is the Cheapest LOS the Best Value?

No. The cheapest LOS is the best value for a solo broker originating 50 loans per year. It's not the best value for a $2B community bank with commercial, consumer, and mortgage lending across 30 staff members.

The right framework is cost per loan closed — not cost per user per month. A $300K/year LOS that helps your team close loans 30% faster may actually be cheaper per loan than a $50K/year system that creates manual work and bottlenecks. Factor in staff time, error rates, compliance risk, and cycle time when comparing costs.

That said, the most expensive platform isn't automatically the best value either. Many community banks on Encompass are paying for enterprise capabilities they'll never use. If secondary market execution and a 300+ partner ecosystem aren't critical to your operation, a mid-market platform like BytePro or Finastra likely gives you more value per dollar.

Next Steps

Get platform recommendations tailored to your budget

Our LOS Finder considers your institution size, lending mix, and priorities to match you with platforms in the right price range.

Start the LOS Finder →

More guides

  • What Is a Loan Origination System?

    A plain-language guide to LOS technology — what it does, why it matters, and how modern platforms differ from legacy systems.

  • How to Choose the Right LOS

    A decision framework for banks, credit unions, and mortgage lenders evaluating loan origination systems. What to prioritize, what to skip, and what vendors won't tell you.

  • LOS Implementation Timeline by Vendor

    Publicly documented LOS implementation windows by vendor, plus the scope, integrations, and staffing choices that make schedules hold or slip.

  • LOS RFP Template & Evaluation Checklist

    A practical template and scorecard for lender teams running a real LOS selection process. Includes RFP structure, scoring weights, and common red flags.